She’s Wearing a Dead Bird on Her Head!

I’m wild for David Catrow.  His illustrations are so comic and appealing that I instantly recognize his books and want to read them.  On his large list of books I’ve never found a better one than She’s Wearing a Dead Bird on Her Head!   It’s a 1995 book written by Kathryn Lasky.  It’s a long, super-engaging story of two real ladies in 1890s Boston who are scandalized by women’s hats adorned with exotic bird feathers.  They set their local Audubon chapter into high gear, going to great lengths to kill this fashion and save the birds endangered by it.

In a book crammed with amazingly great pictures my favorite might be the last.  Minna and Harriet our two heroes are reaching out for a birthday hug.  I love how on the wall is a famous, framed Audubon bird that is stepping right out of the frame.

I’m a great believer in picture books for all ages.  This one might be lost on a pre-schooler, would possibly engage  the early elementary crowd, and is GREAT for intermediate and middle schoolers.  That age group is learning that how things are is not how things always have to be.  Harriet and Minna could lead older readers through some wonderful portals.

4 Comments

Filed under Age: Early Elementary, Age: Middle Grade, Age: Young Adult, Non-Fiction, Picture Books, Reviews

4 responses to “She’s Wearing a Dead Bird on Her Head!

  1. This book sounds great! I’ll request it from my library. Thanks, Dan!

  2. My grandmother had a framed Bird of Paradise, which probably adorned a hat at some time. It always creeped me out a bit. My sister, now quite active with the bird people, arranged for it to be donated as a specimen to one of the Audobon organizations.

Leave a Reply

